I Pledge Allegiance…

When I was in elementary school, the day began by pledging allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all. It was an honor to recite that pledge every morning. I remember feeling that it made me part of something bigger, something special. As time went by I learned about the Founders and the founding of our nation . Then one day I had a eureka moment. I realized that the pledge wasn’t just my connection to history, that pledge made me part of history. That is the day I understood the Pledge of Allegiance.

Today, many, many years later, I am still reading and learning about the founding fathers. I read about their battles and their wars. I read their biographies and I learn about their strengths and their weaknesses. And unlike the idealized images I had of them as a youngster standing in that classroom reciting the pledge, I know them today (as well as one can) as flesh and blood men. But my respect and admiration for them has soared, not despite their weaknesses, but because of them. It has taught me that flawed and sometimes foolhardy men can achieve amazing things. After all, they created a nation with nothing but an idea, a quill pen, a candle, and faith in God.

In my own way, I still pledge allegiance to the flag each and every day and I still love my country. Unfortunately, it has become fashionable to say and act otherwise. I have been accused of many things in my life but fashionable was never one of them. I’m a guy who likes reruns of the Any Griffith Show, a visit to the Norman Rockwell museum in Stockbridge, taking a drive in the country on a Sunday afternoon, band concerts on the town green and fireworks on the 4th of July. I know you ladies can’t wait to snap me up. I may be a dinosaur but there are millions of dinosaurs just like me out there, both young and old, and, contrary to popular belief, we are far from extinct. We were napping but have been awakened from our slumber…and we’re pissed off. -Lew-

God Bless America.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

